Invalidity Scooters - classes and licenses

Invalidity scooters are transport for elderly people, disabled people or anyone who struggles to walk long distances and would benefit from an electric scooter. Although you don't require a license for most of these, some models (or "classes") of invalidity scooters require DVLA registration.

Class 1

Class 1 invalidity scooters are manual wheelchairs or any kind of transport that isn't automatically propelled (i.e., someone is required to push the chair and no motor/engine is used to mobilise it). You don't need to register these with the DVLA.

Class 2

Class 2 invalidity scooters are powered wheelchairs or scooters used for footpaths and pavements only (not for use on roads). They have  maximum speed of 4mph and unladen weight of 113.4kgs; like Class 1 scooters, you don't need to register these with the DVLA.

Class 3

Class 3 invalidity scooters are mechanically powered and can exceed 4mph but cannot exceed 8mph. They're intended for use on roadsides and footpaths but must be fitted with a device to limit speed to 4mph on footpaths. The weight cannot exceed 150kgs (both wheelchairs and scooters) and these models must be registered with the DVLA.

Registering Invalidity Scooters

Users must complete a V55/5 (used scooters) or V55/4 (new scooters) form from the DVLA or Directgov website and send it to their local DVLA office. The class 3 carriage is registered under "disabled taxation" and will display a nil tax disc for road use. Users don't need to provide proof of VED exemption when licensing a class 3 invalidity scooter like they would have to when driving a normal car, nor is it a legal requirement to have insurance (although taking out insurance for personal safety and value of the scooter is highly recommended).

You can find more information and all forms from the Directgov website at: http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/Motoring/index.htm .

United Kingdom - Excite Network Copyright ©1995 - 2021